Silence; One single impression

Posted: August 15, 2011 in Ramblings of a sober Poet
Tags: , , , , ,

A field of sunflowers

Screaming at me in yellow

Alone.

I sway in the whispering wind.

Dancing to a blues sung by the heavens

The sun speaks to me with burning passion

Reigniting the fading embers in my tired eyes.

A orchestra of colour,

rainbows explode onto distant horizons

A cacophony of sounds

long forgotten

A song unsung by time and modern life

Now we stand in awe of

the silence.

© Richard Quaz Roodt 2011

This poem is linked to OpenLinkNight @Dversepoets.com  O.S.I

Comments
  1. So many great images in this. “A field of sunflowers

    Screaming at me in yellow” love that!

  2. Reflections says:

    Wow… powerful silence! Wonderful write.

  3. Ramesh Sood says:

    And I speak in one word: Amazing..!!!!

  4. Beautiful images and a humbling message. Great job. Here’s my entry: http://mysticmarleei.wordpress.com/2011/12/31/2011/

  5. ~L says:

    I love how my mind has to challange itself to find the meaning within your words… You are a very talented writer!!!

    ~L

  6. hedgewitch says:

    That we do. Silence is the canvas on which all our realizations are painted, I think. Great imagery in this.

  7. Ruth says:

    Wonderful and fresh images… I like this!

  8. brian miller says:

    nice…love the descriptions…i have found hose fields…far off where the world is silent except the world…nothing man made…ou took me there and it felt good…

  9. I would love to hear you read this! Have you ever done spoken word? I have a group on SoundCloud you can access through a link in my nav bar on my blog should you ever consider. Your work is brilliant!

    http://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/2012/01/03/look-me-in-the-eye-when-you-say-goodbye/

  10. The poetry works so well with the picture. I also really like how you used colour here. Its sparseness makes it stand out that much more.

    Great work here.

Leave a Reply

