…and on the 5th day

Posted: September 6, 2011 in Ramblings of a sober Poet
Tags: , , , ,

image ©Richard Quaz Roodt(2011)

 …and on the 5th day

Half awake

Drowning in a cup of black coffee.

The hour glass lays broken,

Time escapes and becomes forever.

The poet clothes his brittle soul in autumn leaves

Predicting winter for supper.

I have lost faith in tomorrow.

We live our feeble lives in the constant now

And right now, you are not here.

Alone.

My sharpened pencil speaks bluntly

He violently cuts into a virgin page

Chaining my loneliness to a company of poems

I tear away pieces of my wailing self

Preparing for life without you

and then…

Half awake

staring at the coffee stains and your name

etched into my wooden table

My heart smiles

as your distinctive voice tickles my waiting ear

From the other side of the door an announcement:

My cat has returned from his walk about.

 ©Richard Quaz Roodt(2011)  

THIS POEM IS LINKED TO OPENLINKNIGHT @d’VERSE POETS PUB

 

Comments
  1. claudia says:

    love the pic richard and love your words…The poet clothes his brittle soul in autumn leaves…i can feel this..and the closure made me smile..

  2. Mama Zen says:

    The ending made me laugh out loud. I love this!

  3. brian says:

    awww…what a cute kitty…my pencil bluntly is great play…i do know the feel of trying to write without the one that brings us inspiration…clothed in autumn leaves…nice line as well…

  4. claudia says:

    enjoyed reading this again…The poet clothes his brittle soul in autumn leaves…again….lovely image…

  5. tashtoo says:

    My own must be reading this as well…as he refuses to leave my side! Loved the write, a look into the process, and the best friend that brought you back 🙂 They’re great that way! And the pic is to die for!

  6. I don’t even know where to start here Richard because from the top of this poem to the bottom my jaw was simply wide open…… Time escaped a broken hourglass and became forever…… I am never going to forget that line. And it doesn’t stop there….. clothed in autumn leaves predicting winter for supper… I love fall, and have not enjoyed it since a childhood because winter is always right around the corner in the back of my mind…. It’s simply what’s for dinner…. that is brilliant… The constant now, alone. Your pencil cuts into a virgin page……. Chaining loneliness to the company of poems……. As a love poem Richard this is one of the most descriptive, intelligently written, beautiful ones that I have ever seen and I am not a fan of love poetry. But this is outstanding. Bravo! But as a “love my cat” poem, it’s a bit overstated but effing hilarious….. !!!! You have a new follower……..

  7. I think losing a pet is terribly painful; I’m so happy you found yours and shared the happy moment with us.

  8. ayala says:

    This is great, the ending just made me smile 🙂

  9. “My cat”?!? More like, you are that cat’s human. And hungered, the canine slinks home again to accept your humbled gratitude and a platter-tude o’ food.

    Personally, I think giraffes are nice. LOL

  10. Heaven says:

    Enjoyed the sadness.. then the humor towards the end.

    Great ending line ~

  11. This is so cute how your cat has returned from his walk about. Never knew of heard of a cat before taking a walk about. Love your image this adds so much to your great poem and your walk about make me laugh so hard
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/09/27/addiction-to-solitaire/#comment-1224

  12. siubhan says:

    Lovely images here. The lines

    “The hour glass lays broken,

    Time escapes and becomes forever.

    The poet clothes his brittle soul in autumn leaves

    Predicting winter for supper.”

    –brilliant.

  13. Joe Hesch says:

    So many cool images, lines and thoughts here, from clothing the soul in brittle leaves to chaining loneliness to A company of poems. And then the payoff. Very nice piece.

Leave a Reply

