“Drugs kill…fear”

Posted: September 9, 2011 in Ramblings of a sober Poet
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

The sand man has gone fishing
Alone,
I go
Hunting for sleep
Eyelids descend inviting darkness
Shadows reach for me
Sweat oozes
Wrestling with blankets
Uneasy in my own skin

The crickets won’t shut up

Moonlight tears through split curtains
Blinding me
The tap drips, so I think
Digital clock warns :
morning approaches like a lioness eying a tired deer.
Sleep has abandoned me…

The crickets wont shut up

Maybe a book
or a chat with the T.V
Or rather
Some Xanax and Donormyl
This, unlike last night ,will really be the last time.

 ©Richard Quaz Roodt(2011)

THIS POEM IS LINKED TO POETRYJAAM

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Comments
  1. Mama Zen says:

    Absolutely amazing write. Love the repetition of the crickets line.

  2. Laurie Kolp says:

    The last time my ass, right? A horrible place to be… great piece.

  3. edpilolla says:

    you got the daily moment right on. very nice.

  4. Helen says:

    Great poem! I must admit I have never taken a sleeping pill for the sole purpose of getting to sleep … I believe I’ve been given something during a few hospital stays.

  5. Anna :0] says:

    Stunnung write.

    My wordpress seems to be playing up. You will find my offering here

    Anna :o]

  6. CC Champagne says:

    I can only echo Laurie on this! Been there, still am there! Love how you painted the picture of it!

  7. jinksy says:

    Wrestling with blankets
    Uneasy in my own skin

    That certainly sums up a bad night – with or without pills!

  8. NanU says:

    I know how that goes! One of the hardest cycles to get out of.

  9. Oh yes I have been there. Great write. Hope we all make it till dawn.

    Melanie

  10. The Bug says:

    I love your poem – I can feel insomnia creeping over me just reading it. I used to be such a reliable sleeper, but since my recent surger I keep waking up & getting REALLY annoyed with the night: it’s too hot, it’s too cold, it’s too quiet, it’s too noisy. Thank goodness I can’t really hear the crickets!

  11. brian says:

    if only…all too real and i have been there a night or two or maybe quite a few myself…ack

  12. tashtoo says:

    Seriously…without help, I dream of hungry zombies each and every night without fail! It’s odd, and I’m not sure if I should have shared that…but without sleep, I am useless! I have found help that doesn’t come in capsule form however…no chemical dependency here…an all too relatable piece, but I found comfort in our similarities! 😉 Killer write 🙂

  13. Heaven says:

    When I saw this prompt over at PJ, I didn’t know what to write as I don’t take pills nor any medication, even for sleeping. I know its a nightmare for some people but I have no trouble sleeping once I hit the sack.

    Nice share today ~

  14. Chris G. says:

    A little haunting, a lot of truth…chemical dependency is certainly an issue in our society, but I suppose if sleep is so elusive, and the haunts so pervasive…

  15. OMG…. yes yes yes….. I’ve been there….. when my depression gets bad, really bad I don’t sleep at all and those damn crickets drive me insane…. and i always think the same thing…. This will be the last time….. touching poem….. really meaningful to me……

  16. This is so amazing and so true people turn to drugs and drinking to forget but in the morning they wake up and are no longer stoned they can not forget what happened so they get stoned again to forget
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/09/13/a-new-life-begins/

  17. Quaz says:

    Wow Thanks for taking time to Read Guys.

  18. expatinCAT says:

    ‘the crickets wont shut up’…what a great line. ‘Uneasy in my own skin’ is another… bang bang! Good write. // Peter.

  19. David King says:

    The tap drips, so I think
    Digital clock warns :

    know that one. In fact the whole poem has the smack of authenticity. A fine post.

  20. Margaret says:

    The first line grabbed my attention! Loved it and I somehow think it won’t be the last pill…

  21. Boledi Tladi says:

    The rawness of that last line…hits hard

Leave a Reply

