I do!

Posted: October 4, 2011 in Ramblings of a sober Poet
Tags: , , , , , ,

Remember
how you laughed and pointed?
How your words cut away at my confidence.
Remember the fun you had?
How you skillfully lured tears out of my young eyes.
Remember your chuckles and whispers?
How your eyes uninvited me to the playground conversations
Remember how you had me running in the wind
frantically running after pieces of my broken self?
Always reminding me that I am
The overweight kid with the four eyes.
I remember
…and forgive you

_________________________________________________________________

This poem is linked to PoetryJaam and Open link night @ d’Versepoets.com

Comments
  1. brian says:

    i am glad you can find it to forgive…what an unrelenting time…i too touched on bullying a bit in mine…

  2. Pat Hatt says:

    Nice that you can forgive and live and let live. Hopefully nothing but good will come around, while the others karma will come back and be found.

  3. Chris G. says:

    it is the sign of the greater soul to face those childhood woes…and to put them behind one, to let grudges float away into the winds of time.

  4. Helen says:

    I read this several times … powerful words …. healing emotion.

  5. claudia says:

    so good that you can forgive…children can be so mean to each other…always makes me sad when i see this..

  6. Eva Von Pelt says:

    Forgiveness is so freeing…. Thank you for sharing 🙂
    -Eva

  7. tashtoo says:

    That is a mighty powerful finish…you are stronger than me! Most of the meanies I knew from the playground have grown up to be bigger meanies, who are now raising minimeanies…it’s a cycle. It drives me CRAZY! I aspire to be like you…fantastic little write!

  8. Margaret says:

    Oh yes. This is POWERFUL! I didn’t always enjoy the play ground either. Thank GOD elementary school doesn’t last forever…

  9. this is so good I remember when I was small and had to wear glasses but I was not the over weight kid I was the super skinny kid and got teased so badly for this one. I can really relate to this poem excellent job
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/10/04/memories/

  10. Mike says:

    A great poem, very powerful.
    It highlights so well the strength of words, both for good and evil.

  11. Morning says:

    love it,

    fun tease on yourself and divine attitude with forgiveness in it.

    at times, folks are not aware of the impact of their bullying.

  12. You do a great job of evoking remembered pain from the experience of being bullied.

    But a lot of people have trouble forgiving. And you leave us wondering WHY you forgive and HOW you can.

    As a child I was bitten by another small boy in a supermarket aisle. When I went crying to my mother, she asked what I had done to him. Had I instigated the attack? No. Had I retaliated? No. She was astonished, asked why.

    “If I hit him, then he would hit me back. And then I would have to hit him, and he would have to hit me…” I explained. I already understood at 5 what the whole world seems not to understand: that revenge is a cycle of retaliation, a loop of endlessly self-defeating conflict.

    • Quaz says:

      Thanks Charles. Yeah its hard to forgive but those Bullies don’t remember half of their actions and walk around unfazed. I guess its just too much energy wasted holding onto a grudge against someone that does niot even remember the offensive incident

  13. ShonEjai says:

    As one who was also teased…I was with your every word. I loved this poem. Thank you for sharing it. Great work!

Leave a Reply

