Stroking Blue velvet

I shoot.

Exhale something orgasmic

Slowly lean to the left.

and slip out of my body.

 Total silence.

 Floating in bliss

I look down at my body

A limp lump of flesh and bone

slouched on the couch.

I’m a smooth cat.

The funky dude

Chilling with my main man Harry Jones

Old Harry.

He sends me chasing the dragon

and I love it here .

Screw your piety.

Time stops

and then…

Starts again

 The silence dissolves

the city’s voice comes back and

fills the dark room

Gravity pulls me back into my body

and reminds me of this reality.

Stringy spit spills out of my mouth like Syrup

slowly reaching for my chest.

I wipe.

Hoping to erase my moment of sinful pleasure.

Brown belt loosens its tight grip around my arm

and slips through the loops around my waist

Shirt sleeves will hide evidence.

I drag myself to the bathroom

for a shower

The office calls.

I need to limber up

©Richard QuazRoodt(2011)

__________________________________________________________________

THIS POEM IS LINKED TO d’Versepoets.com Poetics (Prompt The Other;persona poem)  and  One Single impression .(Prompt: Limber up)

Comments
  1. claudia says:

    wondering that he still makes it to the office somehow…most lose their real life within a few weeks…chasing the dragon but this dragon has sharp teeth and burns those that come too close..

  2. brian says:

    whew…yeah, you capture the feel of shooting up….in a few scary details as well…yeah, catching the dragon is the scariest part…

  3. Mary says:

    What a strong, vivid picture of a world I do not know. You made me KNOW it. Glad to have figured out the meaning of chasing the dragon. I will steer clear.

  4. An office worker “chasing the dragon?” That’s heroin, right? True to life,

  5. Heaven says:

    a well written poem.. i like the journey to the dark side of pleasure and reality.

    question is can he hang on to the grim reality of life?

  6. Ramesh Sood says:

    You have handled the prompt to very uniquely.. well done..

  7. tashtoo says:

    I don’t doubt he makes it to the office. Always amazes me how those in the throws of addiction manage to pull it off as long as they do. A brilliant take on the prompt, and into the mind of the one chasing dragons!

  8. Yeah, this is accurate. Don’t ask me how I know.

  9. Boledi Tladi says:

    Simply put…I’m blown away

  10. Wow, great poem. Very vivid. Quite a trip, thanks for sharing.

  11. christine says:

    I hope I never know this, on personal level. Amazing write, brilliant.

  12. Wow. That’s all I can really say.

    Wow.

Leave a Reply

