A heart I broke; un-Fairy tale

Posted: November 11, 2011 in Ramblings of a sober Poet
Tags: , , , , , ,

In the corners of my darkest self

I go searching for the light.

Still,my mood paints the day morbid.

Murky waters lure me closer to

a wet end for this dry life

My tears become one with the lake

Our fairytale died

and with it my smile.

The singing birds in my voice have

gone silent

I explode into a swarm of bats

and claim the night sky

A dark mood for a once happy child

my unforgiving heart beats curses and spells

A cauldron of revenge for

a life wrapped in hate

I Will see you again lover

and it will be the last time.

 ©Richard Quaz Roodt(2011)

_________________________________________________________________

An Un-Fairytale written for  Openlinknight18 @ d’Versepoets.com  and Poetry Pantry #75 and  Friday Picture Prompt on Real Toads

Comments
  1. hexedsant3 says:

    Spell bounding. . . 🙂

  2. Wow, this is well done, and ominous.

    Kay, Alberta, Canada
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

  3. Fireblossom says:

    Oh I do like this. The bats, and the threat/promise at the end, not to mention the whole air of lost innocence and vanished happiness. very chilling, very nice!

  4. Dark and intense…I explode into a swarm of bats and claim the night sky…Great job!

  5. I love how you twisted up the pic itself in these lines:

    The singing birds in my voice have

    gone silent

    I explode into a swarm of bats

    and claim the night sky… Excellent visual imagery. Thanks for sharing your work on Real Toads.

  6. At first I wanted to console you… but then cover my neck. Nice.

  7. Quaz says:

    Wow Thanks Guys! I will be visiting soon.:-)

  8. Laurie Kolp says:

    Lovely images… I like “the singing birds in my voice have gone silent, I explode into a swarm of bats”

  9. Fantastic writing. Love “the singing birds in my voice have gone silent” SO MUCH!!!!! And then the swarm of bats. Really good!

  10. David King says:

    Yup, the singing birds in your voice going silent did it for me!

  11. Andy says:

    Hello.
    Visiting from The Poetry Pantry.

    Awesome imagery albeit dark, intense & foreboding.
    Very nicely penned.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Imaginary Dreams

  12. love it.

    welcome sharing a random or relevant poetry with us today.

    🙂

  13. Heaven says:

    Beautiful writing ~

  14. hedgewitch says:

    Can’t believe I missed you for Mag, Quaz. My bad. This is excellent, deeply eerie and full of dark and striking images. Last lines set the perfect seal on it. This really takes off with the bats, and soars.

  15. brian miller says:

    oh my what an ominous ending …this is deliciously eerie…and i like it much…smiles.

  16. sometimes we wallow in the sadness, but that wallowing feels good sometimes too. I’m wallowing now, in my own. beautifully penned, deeply felt. xox

    http://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/2011/11/14/the-widow/

  17. Pat Hatt says:

    Wow turning into bats, love it! Wonderful write.

  18. Adura Ojo says:

    The last lines are chillingly beautiful and bring the dark theme to a pleasing conclusion. Well penned.

  19. claudia says:

    tight with emotions…the exploding into swarms of bats…claiming the night sky…i like

  20. Emily says:

    Yes to exploding into a swarm of bats. Wow. A little foreboding there at the end. Nicely written.

  21. wolfsrosebud says:

    sad… but said so beautiful… how awful to have a life wrapped in hate

  22. ayala says:

    Beautiful and tight with emotions!

  23. the word bar says:

    “I explode into a swarm of bats

    and claim the night sky”…..lines I wish I had of written..

    I feel the weight of your words and I am moved.
    the mark of a good poem

    well done.
    Lynne

  24. I explode into a swarm of bats
    and claim the night sky

    Great line. The anger here indeed takes flight. Hecuba methinks has found a friend. 🙂

  25. Powerful, dark and shadowing … I liked the way you developed it till the end…

    ‘I explode into a swarm of bats
    and claim the night sky’

    great imagery…

    Shashi
    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/11/whispers-where-you-will-go.html

  26. Pervagus says:

    Chilling. I’m not the target, but I’m scared by proxy! Good write.

  27. tigerbrite says:

    Strong expression of emotions. Great write.

  28. chimnese says:

    very dark….but it spells of a great heart ache…

  29. kez says:

    very dark and haunting …loved it’s atmosphere thank you for sharing x

  30. Quaz says:

    Thank you, Thank you ,thank you:-)

  31. Quaz says:

    Reblogged this on Quazism's Blog and commented:

    The things we do to the ones we love…

  32. aviwe says:

    yaw nice peirce quazi

  33. aviwe says:

    please man check my blog.. i would use a comment from someone i look up to

  34. Blessmoknowledge says:

    Well writen…i like it king…

Leave a Reply

