Forgive me

Posted: November 11, 2011 in Ramblings of a sober Poet
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Fishing for memories
I stand alone at the rusty gate
Trying to forget this place I once knew.
A deserted house
Gutters filled with old emotions
A home of broken dreams

Remember how our innocent laughter
clung to these walls?.
We found shelter in each others eyes
Painted each room with hope
In the kitchen we cooked up plans for tomorrow
Us and happiness

The heavy reality of running this household
dawned on me in the early morning of our relationship.
I woke up, not feeling like myself
so I left.

Now I stand alone
at the rusty gate to our past.
Looking at a wilted dream.
A flower i refused to water.
In my own garden of regret
Forgive me.

©Richard Quaz Roodt(2011)

________________________________________________________________

This poem is linked to Poetry Pantry #75     Poetry Jam(image Prompt:Still life)

Comments
  1. coalblack says:

    the part about not feeling like yourself so you left is striking, such a split for a person to live with.

  2. coalblack says:

    ps–we use the same layout…it’s freaking me out a little!

  3. Mary says:

    Quaz, I love the photo you used and the words you used. Both very intense, real, the stuff of life. This is one of the best poems I have read in a while. I couldn’t resist commenting on this contribution to Poetry Jam even though I haven’t yet written my own. You inspire me. Thank you.

  4. Quaz says:

    Thanks @ Coalblack. lol yeah i went over to your side and its true, our layouts match.lol. Thanks for popping by.

    @Mary. wow Thank you so much. I am humbled.

  5. Jess says:

    I loved the imagery of the last stanza, very powerful.

  6. demonsking19 says:

    waoo loved it , the line “fishing for memories ” its awesome

  7. chrstine says:

    very sharp last stanza

  8. brian says:

    evocative…i can visualize you there…and the feelings that come with each of those memories….great piece….

  9. zongrik says:

    sometimes the past and the actions of the past are so painful

  10. regrets, well,

    I believe that there is always another chance,
    you may be fogiven already.

    moving words, well done.

  11. Margaret says:

    …in my own garden of regret… Wow. It just got stronger as it went along and left me a bit breathless and sad. Nicely done.

  12. Heaven says:

    Your words are lovely to read… and your last verse, specially your last line, is powerful and heart wrenching.

    I love this ~ (I just realized you are male writer; all the while I thought you are a female writer)

  13. Fireblossom says:

    I followed the Real Toads link here, but I remember this…I already read and commented under my WordPress name, Coal Black!

  14. Morning says:

    visual and lovely.

    🙂

  15. Jinksy says:

    Lets hope a pardon was forthcoming….:) Forgiveness is always good.

  16. Wonderfully done, full of what makes us human.

    Kay, Alberta, Canada
    An Unfittie’s Guide to Adventurous Travel

  17. Helen says:

    No fun being sad and alone … beautifully written.

  18. Poets Rally says:

    consider sharing a piece of your poetry to poets rally today.
    cheers.

    🙂

Leave a Reply

