I am alone

drowning in a ocean of people

Not the swimmer I thought I was

I want my old skin back

I know how to be me in it

I speak a lonely and forgotten language

and find myself in the silent moments

between words.

I hold the sun on my tongue

and better tomorrows in my clenched fist

On the hill of a thousand regrets

I Surrender to the child within

I crown him king again.

I am on the verge of a new me.

©Richard Quaz Roodt(2011)

This poem is linked to d’Versepoets.com #OpenlinkNight  and

 Poets United Thursday Think tank#75(prompt You, yourself)

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Comments
  1. Laura Maria says:

    Excellently written with depth. I can relate to this. Thanks for sharing!

  2. THIS is INCREDIBLY beautiful. I love “I hold the sun on my tongue and better tomorrows in my clenched fist.” I so relate to “on the hill of a thousand regrets….” You write wonderfully. I look forward to reading more of your work.

  3. Heaven says:

    Beautiful writing… I love it ~

    “On the hill of a thousand regrets

    I Surrender to the child within

    I crown him king again.

    I am on the verge of a new me.”

  4. Very much love this. Yes. Yes.

  5. Ella says:

    Wow, love your stunning imagery! Sun on your tongue~ Verging is hard work, but so worth it~
    Change is part of the layers of being human~ Well Done

  6. Rinkly Rimes says:

    ‘Drowning in an ocean of people’….that first line drew me in. Thank you.

  7. Bob says:

    It’s funny how we can’t find the new sometimes unless we give in to the old – enjoyed reading.

  8. Eric says:

    Stellar write, Richard! Loved the line about crowning your inner-child king.

    (You’ve earned yourself a new Follower)

  9. Carrie Burtt says:

    Brave, honest and beautiful!!!

  10. zongrik says:

    so sad and lonely.

  11. Quaz says:

    Thank you for popping in and your kind comments guys. 🙂

  12. claudia says:

    great images in this..the holding the sun on the tongue and speaking a lonely and forgotten language..can be quite the journey to ourselves..right..?

  13. Shawna says:

    The eternal search for self, finding the truest you. I agree that one sees his own heart clearest in silence.

    “I speak a lonely and forgotten language
    and find myself in the silent moments
    between words.”

  14. I want my old skin back too. It is a pathetic thing ya know, for me anyway …that I have lost myself and keep reaching out for something to hold so I dont go under. why do i even need a life vest? I know how to float damnit! but instead, i sit here looking back, wanton, hoping and wishing for things I CAN have back if I just get the hell up! I so get this! Thank you!!!!!!!

    Kellie

    http://magicinthebackyard.wordpress.com/2011/11/22/hard-cider/

  15. brian miller says:

    I hold the sun on my tongue

    and better tomorrows in my clenched fist

    On the hill of a thousand regrets

    whew…love that and the surrender to the child within…yes i think you are on the verge…smiles.

  16. tashtoo says:

    and find myself in the silent moments/between words. That’s where I hide too 🙂 Seriously awesome pen, Poet…you touch on those things I’m sure so many of us cling to…I call it the me between the lines…it’s really the only place I’m comfy. Fantastic share…thank you!

  17. kez says:

    so many people get lost ….thank you for sharing x

  18. hobgoblin2011 says:

    Excellent piece, I really see a lot of my own thoughts I’ve had lately in here. Great job, thanks

  19. Chris G. says:

    “I Surrender to the child within

    I crown him king again.”

    Sometimes there is no sweeter bliss than to let it all go back to this…this piece is a thoughtful and rousing ode to the spirit inside us all. Well done!

  20. the word bar says:

    the child inside you at six is there at sixty..

    very nice recognition of that fact.. well done.

    (would you care to submit some words for the upcoming volumes of The Nexxuss..here is my site and what i do..takeittothestreetpoetry.com
    lynne

  21. The new me, rising out of the ashes… I liked it much and your lines touched me deeply…

    ‘I want my old skin back

    I know how to be me in it’

    Some time we all want us back… the same old me again from the past… where there was life in living…

    Shashi
    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/11/whispers-sighs.html
    At Twitter @VerseEveryDay

  22. ayala says:

    and better tomorrows in my clenched fist…..I love this line….the hope lives within!

  23. caty says:

    “I am alone drowning in an ocean of people” there are some really great lines in this poem!

Leave a Reply

