Seeking change

Posted: November 20, 2011 in Ramblings of a sober Poet
Tags: , , , , , ,

In search of change
blindfolded by destructive habits.
I walk a tightrope,
suspended over my many weaknesses

I know how to do right,
whats left of me is not
what I wished to become

Staring at the mirror
I go searching for pieces of
of my old self.
Behind aging eyes
A young soul yearns for
growth

In search of myself
shackled to a habit of conforming
I decide to start again
I refuse to change and die again.

©Richard Quaz Roodt(2011)

THIS POEM IS LINKED TO d’Versepoets.com (Poetics Prompt:change) and One single impression (prompt:Seeking) and Poetry Pantry #76

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Comments
  1. claudia says:

    i much like the young soul yearning for growth..good to give room..

  2. love it,

    keep changing for better.
    😉

  3. brian says:

    nice…was just talking about conforming…the good news is you can start again any time and choose how you want to change…it is often hard to go back, but you can go forward…

  4. Morning says:

    In search of myself
    shackled to a habit of conforming
    I decide to start again
    I refuse to change and die again.

    good luck.

  5. Heaven says:

    always starting, never to go back… love your message ~

  6. “Staring at the mirror
    I go searching for pieces of
    of my old self.
    Behind aging eyes
    A young soul yearns for
    growth”

    Love it! Poignant. You are a gifted writer my friend. Happy to have found you.

  7. Ron. says:

    The mirror, these days, cringes when it sees me. This may not last; I’m still evolving.

  8. Laura Maria says:

    Excellently written! I really relate to this piece. Thanks so much for sharing!

  9. mareymercy says:

    I like the cyclical nature of the poem, the cycle of change (or refusal to change) mimicking the cycle of life.

  10. agreed, well penned sentiments.

    🙂

  11. Harshad says:

    “Behind aging eyes
    A young soul yearns for
    growth”

    I can relate with words here so much…….

    Thanks.

  12. Sheila Moore says:

    a very reflective (no pun intended) piece. Thank you so much for sharing it with us!

  13. Susannah says:

    “Staring at the mirror
    I go searching for pieces of
    of my old self.
    Behind aging eyes
    A young soul yearns for
    growth”

    – That’s wonderful. I loved this!

  14. Quaz says:

    Baie dankie!!<—–(THANKS A LOT in Afrikaans)
    Great prompts ,as always, from The poets pub and one single impression.

Leave a Reply

