Almost there

Posted: December 17, 2011 in Ramblings of a sober Poet
Tags: , , , , , ,

I drag myself out of the inkpot

and dance across a blank page

The ink splatters and swirls behind me

I dance words to my mother:

I am Coming home,

Home to where happiness lingers

to the calm waters of warmth and familiarity

Where love is reflected on our ugliest faces

My hearts compass directs me homeward

My bags are packed and my boat patched

Fill balloons with prayers for my safe journey

I will see you sooner than you think.

 

©Richard Quaz Roodt(2011)

_____________________________________________________________

This poem is linked to d’Versepoets.com (PoeticsPrompt:PicturePrompt) and OneSingleImpression(Prompt: inkpot )

Comments
  1. Morning says:

    what a triumph in the end, enthusiasm and hope are needed and highlighted.

    go home happy,
    great take on the image.

  2. brian says:

    nice…travel on…this time of year resonated the need to be home…filling balloons with prayers…very nice…this has a warm feel to it…like it much….

  3. Grace says:

    I like your take on this specially that we used the same picture. I like the journey homeward ~

  4. Mama Zen says:

    “Where love is reflected on our ugliest faces.”

    What a great line! I really enjoyed this.

  5. rosemarymint says:

    Love the opening! …

    “I drag myself out of the inkpot
    and dance across a blank page”

  6. olivehue says:

    I love this. Thank you so much for making such great poetry from my drawing. 🙂

    tera

  7. claudia says:

    dancing words of coming home to your mother…being a mother myself and my daughter being abroad for a year i felt this..yet think you’re talking about much more than physical coming home..

  8. David King says:

    Where love is reflected on our ugliest faces

    Until this line hit me I was going to pick out the poems opening five lines. Somewhere between these two selections lies for me the whole essence of this so-delightful poem.

  9. zongrik says:

    it’s great how you depict the feelings of a cartoon character, coming out of the page, and all the issues involved with leaving his world.

  10. Morning says:

    Thanks for linking to poetry picnic, smiles.

    have fun!

  11. Lovely! Very touching 🙂

  12. Harshad says:

    To HOME! at last!!

    Love this piece.

  13. Ramesh Sood says:

    Follow your heart.. home is where heart is.. beautiful write..

  14. Going home….my hearts compass directs me homeward….nice piece

  15. Beautiful words from your inkpot. Well done!

  16. ~L says:

    Warmth. That’s what I felt as I read this:)

  17. Lisa at Greenbow says:

    It is that time of year that we are drawn home no matter what we have to face.

  18. The Purple says:

    love your poetry talent.

    Incredible work,
    Happy Holidays….
    if you write Haiku, welcome sharing with us,
    1 to 3 or more are welcome.
    no theme.
    Hope to see you in,
    Smiles!

  19. poets rally says:

    Greetings: Excellent Blog.

    Happy Happy New Year.

    Best Wishes for the year of 2012…

    Your contribution is always welcome!

    Lots of blessings and cheers sending your way.

    See you soon.

    xoxox

Leave a Reply

