All I offer

Posted: December 27, 2011 in Uncategorized

I don’t want to give you
a piece of the moon
Or swim across the oceans and lakes
to prove my love.
I don’t feel like climbing
the highest mountains or
bottling sunsets.
It’s too much work.
I can’t make promises about us,
the heavens and happiness.
I might not be able to keep them..
Anyway …
I’d be doing it all for my ego.
I just want you to believe me
when I say I do love you

©Richard Quaz Roodt(2011)

This poem is linked to D’versepoets.com OpenLinkNight.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Comments
  1. brian miller says:

    nice…and i think that all the rest is bravado when a little love and attention would do…smiles.

  2. great poem… that’s all ya need… simplicity beats all the glitz & glam any day

  3. Ephraim says:

    The truth shall set us free.

  4. tashtoo says:

    Perfect! Just Perfect! Isn’t that what we all want…when we really get honest with ourselves. It can be that simple…right? Wishing a wonderful 2012 for you and your pen, Poet!

  5. Kim or Lisa says:

    Great poem, straight to the point which reflects the sentiment.

  6. booguloo says:

    How many times have I wished I would have said that..? Great write.

  7. Caledoniapoems says:

    Great poem 😉

  8. Natalie says:

    you speak of love profoundly,

    love it.

    🙂

  9. ~L says:

    ah yes, when one means ‘I love you” … you just want them to believe it as much as you mean it!

    like this one:)

    ~L
    http://untitledmoments.com/2011/12/23/i-am-many-free-write-friday/

  10. Gwen Dubeau says:

    Liked this a lot. Life is like that, nothing permanent or certain. Best wishes for the New Year!

  11. This could be set to music, it is a song.

  12. Snowflakes says:

    perfectly beautiful.

  13. Alcina says:

    So true and honest.
    Nice work and the feed for ego is well enough to tell that you love 🙂

    Alcina-Breathless

  14. It really is that simple, just believe, jet it is so hard. One of the many ways people mess up their lives.

    Thank you, and Happy New Year!

  15. LifeInVerse says:

    This is so sweet. It kind of reminds me of Shakespeare’s Sonnet “My mistress’s eyes are not like the Sun”. Excellent Write!

  16. dhitzunako says:

    Hehe, you’re right. Why bother to compare love with things? Just say it and prove it. Love your thoughts. 🙂
    happy rally.

    -dhitermination.wordpress.com-

Leave a Reply

