Fading Memories

Posted: March 4, 2012 in Ramblings of a sober Poet
Tags: , , , , , ,

Grasping at fading memories

I cross that bridge and journey towards

A time when my dullest moments

were the most colourful.

 

A golden childhood

Life overflowing.

Fishing from the sky

Flying under water

A beautiful vista of curiosity and innocence

I explored

and owned each moment

 

But…

Time eats away at what was

She weakens the bridge

between now and then

She covers yesterday in rust

and my fondest memories in cobwebs

The trees are older now

The stream is weaker

And I find myself

frantically adding colour to a fading painting

 

©Richard Quaz Roodt(2012)

 

This poem is linked to d’versepoets.com (POETICS)

Comments
  1. claudia says:

    the bridge to childhood..no..we don’t wanna lose it..you capture that fear well and the trying to revive it, so rescue the memories, the emotions, the colors..but hey…even if the colors fade..we won’t lose it…fine piece…

  2. brian miller says:

    mmm…they do fade over time…and we try to add color so we can cling to it…technicolor our memories…nice underlying tension under this i think many can relate to

  3. Chazinator says:

    Time and age does strange things to the world, which you’ve captured well in your poem. I never imagined how time bends and twists in memory and imagination when I was younger, but now I begin to see the truth in the saying, panta rhei. I thought you concluded the poem very well:

    The trees are older now
    The stream is weaker
    And I find myself
    frantically adding colour to a fading painting

    This is a nice finish not only becUse it refers us back to the photo, but because it does seem true of much of human memory.

  4. booguloo says:

    An unfortunate occurrence that does happen.

  5. Sheila says:

    I so enjoy your imagery and its backwards/up-side-down-feel such as:

    – A time when my dullest moments were the most colourful
    and

    – Fishing from the sky
    Flying under water

    This write is wonderfully paired with the photo. I like it a lot!

  6. I really like what you created from that image. I especially like the frantic adding of color, kinda the way we embellish old stories.

  7. Chimnese says:

    I’ve been doing this a lot reviving faded memories of my childhood some painful some not so much. You outline the fear in forgetting. Very well.

  8. Jamie Dedes says:

    Profoundly beautiful. Thank you for this.

  9. I find the bridge to my childhood has too many dark colors…It is a place I try not to visit often. so happy you can write of a wonderful one…Beautiful piece!

  10. beespoetry says:

    “I find myself
    frantically adding colour to a fading painting”

    Wow, great finish. This is an excellent poem overall.

Leave a Reply

