The summer of us

Posted: November 12, 2013 in Uncategorized

Reading you,

Each page tells me to love you more.

Fold me into your unwritten chapters

Into the blank uncertain pages of tomorrow

I hear the colour of us.

it smells like jazz on carefree Sundays

We are the beauty in the discord

that unrehearsed piece of music

Fighting  to be heard.

 

Read my palm,

A handful of hope for our tethered souls

I have folded you into my forever after

Sewn bits of you onto the fabrics of my daydreams

Can you hear the colour of us

It breathes life into the sleeping giant within me.

Urges me to unfold my wings.

 To claim the sky

Fly with me.

Join me in the chaos.

Let us and only us, be the order of the day

 

©Richard Quaz Roodt 2013

This poem is linked to Dverse Poets Open link night 122

Comments
  1. claudia says:

    I hear the colour of us.

    it smells like jazz on carefree Sundays….you know..i love this…i love when love is like a good song…a piece of music where one tune fits to the other…and makes the other even more interesting..

  2. ayala says:

    Sewn bits of you… Sweet love poem 🙂

  3. brian miller says:

    fold me into your unwritten chapters was a line that really caught me early on quaz….the sewn bits into the fabric of day dreams as well…some really cool lines in this one…

  4. Morgan says:

    wonderful imagery, marvelous musical quality. This is very nice indeed 😉

  5. Wonderful write. Very romantic. And slightly scary, at least to me. 🙂

  6. These lines really resonate with me, “Fold me into your unwritten chapters

    Into the blank uncertain pages of tomorrow”. Life is chapters; so often we are afraid to turn the page though.

  7. My first read of your work. I assure you it will not be my last. Fabulous! What a great introduction to you as a poet and your poetic talent.

Leave a Reply

